Two Years on the Blog

I was looking through some old posts today, and noticed that two years today, I started blogging. Wow.

What has changed since then? Oh, so much. When I started writing, I would’ve been into my second job in Government. Since then I’ve seen another position and another department. The perspective gained over that time has had a big influence on how I write and how I look to engage with the broader public service community. There are certainly mixers (w2p) and events (policy ignite) that I made an effort to attend, and many people in those circles crossover. The conversations with people at those types of events inspire much of my writing.

Twitter, of course, has been invaluable. In bouncing around ideas and getting feedback from others on what is going on in and around government.

I think my biggest query, though, is why there is a lack of government bloggers. It looks to be the same group blogging now that have in the past. The group of active bloggers seems to be less than 5 people. I wonder what has caused this? Is it the platform? Is it fear of reprisal?

While we’ve seen the community on Twitter grow (and I think that’s awesome), blogging is an important way for messages to get out. If you miss a conversation on twitter, it can be difficult to catch up. Documenting our experiences for others to read (who may not be engaging on Twitter, or who are looking to go back and see what has been said in the past) becomes a crucial part of our function as people who are trying to change the Public Service.

It’s our responsibility, after all.

5 thoughts on “Two Years on the Blog

  1. Hi Colin,
    I have always mulled the idea of a blog however I have not taken the first step. Your current blogpost has inspired me to perhaps start telling the stories/ideas/perspectives etc. that are swirling about in my head. Stay tuned 🙂
    B
    PS: I have always enjoyed reading your blog!

  2. Hi Colin,

    Are you referring strictly to public blogging by public servants? There are lots of people posting content through internal tools, whether internal to a particular department or more broadly through GCConnex. Maybe that will change over time and we’ll start seeing more public blogging, especially now that there is a bit more guidance on the use of social media. However, I doubt it. I think public servants have opinions. I don’t think they are interested in making those opinions public, let alone known within their own workplace circles. And a risk-averse interpretation of the Values and Ethics Code would probably back them up on that.

    • I am referring strictly to blogging by public servants. I’m not seeing as much content in broader goc circles (I hear rumours of intradepartmental material), but I’m not sure how widely read it is. We have this great community of public servants discussing issues openly (via Twitter), but very few actually collecting those thoughts and writing down more concrete ideas.

      If the aim is to demonstrate to public servants that they can engage in this type of public activity, then we need to lead by example.

      The Code of Values and Ethics can be interpreted in several different ways. If taken with a broader lense, especially if read in conjunction with various reports from the Clerk, there is easily justification for public servants engaging in a more public forum and trying to put our ideas out there.

Leave a Reply

